Critical Reflection on Project Learning (Blogpost #4)

In this project, I am able to apply what I had learnt in class and create a presentation that will absorb the audience’s attention throughout the presentation. The “5 W’s and 1 H” method beefs up my presentation with substances, allowing me to express my points with in-depth explanations and strong supporting evidence. Going through various kind of presentations, I noticed I had frequently fallen short on my explanations on my powerpoint slides. Till date, I am able to deliver my messages with confidence that my audience will receive sufficient takeaways from my presentation.

My group members and I went to the presentation with clear knowledge of our topic after staying up late to brush up our presentation slides. Due to insufficient rest, we did not perform to our expectation, though still performed adequately. For me, I tend to speak too quickly and this turns out to be a barrier to my audience’s understanding. From now on, I would try to speak a little slower and hopefully be able to articulate better before my next presentation. My fellow partners Syaifudin and Syahirah presented their respective parts well but with room for improvements.

On top of that, I also received other meaningful comments such as my lapse on the connection between the video and slides during the project presentation. I was working within the time constraint and failed to notice this costly mistake. I am truly disappointed with myself as a presentation veteran, who is usually much more careful managing the content of a presentation. Despite the mistake I made, it is a learning experience for me. Learning from the mistake I make will allow me to display even better for the next one. I will pay more attention to content linkage to avoid disconnection of content again.

In general, I felt that my group had picked an important topic that covers such an important topic ‘Active Listening’ that deserve awareness out of everybody. My group members and I have expressed concern as a university student, who are unable spend time with our family and listen to what they have in their mind. The only solution we can think of is to make time out of our busy schedule and gather fo a family bonding session. This is when we can actively listen to them and let them know our own latest update in our school life.

In the topic of ‘Active Listening’, I learnt that there are diverse styles of listening. Some of the styles of listening are content-oriented, time-oriented, people-oriented and action-oriented. In school or at home, we will definitely meet people with different styles of listening. In order to better transmit our message to them, tuning our message based on their listening style may lead to better understanding to the listener. 

Interpersonal communication is about effective and efficient interaction with understanding. From the presentation, I noticed my own flaws and received invaluable feedbacks from my peers. “All men make mistakes, but only wise men learn from their mistakes” once said by Winston Churchill. With the experience and knowledge gained on this project, I have confidence that my groupmates and I would be able to perform even better in our future presentations.

Last Updated: 19th April 2016

 

Commented On:

 

Rati Shukla, Marcus Yeo, Syaifudin

2 comments

  1. Brad · April 14, 2016

    Thanks, JS, for this short discussion of the presentation component of your project. You mention a few of the areas where you feel you could improve and a few where you’ve learned something and have improved already. You rightly point out that in your presentation, you need to have confidence — which you seemed in no short supply of. I think that led you to showing good eye contact and a good presentation stance.

    You also note that your speed of speech was a bit fast, which was certainly true. You could have also mentioned how your content seemed rather disconnected from the video clip and even from the greater topic of listening within the family. We’ll discuss all of this when we meet on Friday.

    I’m curious though about other parts of your project learning. After all, listening is so important. Do you feel, in retrospect, that the choice of listening within the family was a good one for your group? Did any of the research that you did related to listening interest you? In your own family, can what you have learned be applied? What about at school?

    These are issues that I would have loved to have heard about when I think of you and your group members writing a project reflection. I know you’re all busy and that it’s easy to reflect on presentation skills. Heck, that is the example topic I gave you. Still, as I have asked other students: Can I be faulted for expecting more discussion directly related to your project content from you?

    Like

    • doremejs · April 19, 2016

      Thank you Brad! I had made necessary amendments to it. Please let me know where I can further improve it. Thank you!

      Like

Leave a comment